Giveaway Time!

Dearies!

We at Random House India love to surprise and delight our readers. So, lo and behold….One signed copy of Ian McEwan’s Sweet Tooth is up for grabs!

Tell us about a book that has impacted you the most.

Giddy up peeps, the contest ends on September 07, 2012.

xoxo,
RHI

22 responses to “Giveaway Time!

  1. Read ‘A case of exploding mangoes’ by Mohammed Hanif recently and was impressed by the way the author combined satire, wit, history, and imagination to a story. In my review of the book, I concluded: ‘The book is a treat in all respects. You want to understand Pakistani history from the intriguingly comic perspective, read it. You want to know if Pakistani writers can be irreverent in their expression, this book shows they can. If you want to read excellent metaphorical expression, go ahead and treat yourself with this work. The descriptions are wonderful, the pace is blazing, the punches are well served… and the production smiles and attracts! Random House has done a great job.’

    The complete review can be read here:
    http://passey.info/2012/08/a-drill-without-command-is-an-art-review-of-a-case-of-exploding-mangoes/

    Arvind Passey
    http://www.passey.info

  2. Secret Seven books have had a big impact on my childhood life. Whenever I read a secret seven book, I would get so influenced I would inact the story or some part of it in real life, and just acting it would give me all the pleasure. I used to sit under a tree in my back yard pretending it to be the secret seven’s tree house and all day long my brother and I would pretend to solve mysteries. I had insisted on a getting a dog like Scamper too, though my mother was strictly against it. Oh! I had 6 of my girlfriends make a group with me like that of those seven but it didn’t work out, I kept on correcting them according to their characters, plus, I was the only one who was so excited.

  3. I have been impacted most by Sherlock Holmes. The devious skill, the art of deduction, the thrill, the suspense, the writing. Sir Doyle has been an influential writer and I owe a part of my life to him.

  4. “Little Women.”
    I was in my early teens when I read “Little Women” by Lousia May Alcott and I liked to believe that I was Jo, the writer in the story. Jo always wore a “scribbling suit” to write her novels. Her suit consisted of a black woolen pinafore and a black cap with a red bow. I did not have a black pinafore or a cap, so I made my own “scribbling suit”. I pinned two ribbons on the waistband of an old navy blue skirt and tied the skirt around my waist, so that it looked a bit like a pinafore! I tied a beautiful red ribbon around my wide-brimmed straw hat, the only one I had, bought at a beach. And I wrote as often as I could proudly wearing this grand outfit.
    I’ve read Little Women many, many times and you’ll still find the tattered book in my bookshelf.

  5. To Kill A Mockingbird made a deep impression on me. I love how a story of such depth and dealing with issues of race and color, prejudice and justice abuse and innocence are told in a child’s voice. The character of Atticus as a model of understanding, empathy and justice is brilliantly created by Harper Lee! This books reminds me to go beyond the obvious and not allow myself to have preconceived notions about people and situations.

  6. I had recently broken up from my girlfriend and was not scoring well in my school life either. Basically my life was in a mess at that moment, and I wasn’t doing anything to get on the back track either. At that time, my mom gave me this book titled: “7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Sean Covey”. I was an avid reader of books at that time and the title kind of turned me off. But my mum convinced me to read this book, and I figured, “eh! What the hell”. So I decided to give it a try. And boy did it turn around my life. It completely changed my perception to the world, my friends, parents, towards my studying and lots of other things. I became more stable regarding my emotional state, my studying methods improved, my attitude towards people I did not like changed. Before I used to constantly find reasons to be unhappy, but after the book my happiness and that satisfaction feeling came. Finally my life started to turn around and I really thank my mum and Sean Covey for this. The book impacted me the most till date.

  7. One of the best books that has ever happened to me till now is The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Words would fall short if I try to explain what an immense impact it had on me- the story, its characters and the sheer, simple act of story telling; no one comes close to Hosseini when its the matter of moving my heart. Set in the backdrop of invasion by Soviet Union and rise of Taliban regime in Afghanistan, The Kite Runner weaves a story of Amir and Hassan, a story of their lives and how a small event changes everything drastically. There are innumerable parts of the story that wrung my heart, or brought a smile to my lips or a lump in my throat. Its Hassan’s silent, selfless and sacrificial love that stands out in the first part of the story and its Amir’s conflict with himself that eventually drew him to the path of redemption that is highlighted in the next part.
    I cant express how much this story touched my heart, made me ponder over the trivial things in my life and how much it INSPIRED me. It made me realize how deep every bond that connects us to people runs, and how it subconsciously affects our decisions.
    But more importantly, it taught me in clear terms that life isnt perfect, love isnt perfect and we, as humans arent at all perfect. We all have our share of mistakes, regrets and decisions that changes the very meaning of our lives.
    As the protagonist of the story, Amir isnt perfect, there are many things that he regrets in his life but in the end, his actions driven by the realization that his new settled world cant give him the peace of his mind is what makes his character so inspiring.
    The Kite Runner essentially tells a story of redemption but it brings together so many powerful elements that its simply impossible not to be effected by it. It speaks of friendship, of love, of the devotion you have for your parents, of the eagerness in your heart to make them feel proud of you. It speaks of the sacrifices you make in love, of the obstacles that stop your steps and the truth, the truth you learn to accept in your life.
    At the end it taught me how important it is to have a clear conscience because its the thing that keeps you alive.
    So its The Kite Runner for me, a book that has stamped an imprint on my soul and never in my life would I be able to forget this line that brought a lump to my throat- “For you, a thousand time over”

  8. “The Secret” by Rhonda Bryne has impacted me the most.It claimed that positive thinking can actually change the whole life scenario.It actually works for me :))

  9. Harper Lee wrote a deceptively simple story in ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’. But it is an endearing and universal story about innocence, accepting difference and simply love. Mockingbird is the symbol for innocence, innocence that must never be killed or even harmed. The book has always been closed to my heart. Why? We all grow up with a strange, irrational feeling “against” others. But I learnt that others are also as human as us. Even people who have strange stories attached to them. Moreover, the plea for innocence is so powerful: innocence that must be protected at any cost. When this innocence is lost, the world becomes poorer. I have always tried to maintain it as one of my personal creed.
    And one of the most important and intensely personal reasons why I would always love this story is that it has one of the two most amazing and lovable sister characters in the whole of literature. Scout, the narrator of this story, is an amazing sister. Even when she is scared, she would stand by her elder brother. Even as a kid, she never abandons her brother. I always see a bit of Scout in my sister. Or a bit of my sister in Scout. Either ways, I love her to the bits. Any brother is lucky to have such a sister in his life.
    Every time I read the book, it leaves me with a warmth for humanity and a bit more love for my sister.

  10. The book that impacted me most is- The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. Lovely classic. Loved the characters and the narrative woven through them from the popular architect Howard Roark to to the don from hell’s kitchen! Amazing book!

  11. Somerset Maugham’s ‘Of Human Bondage’ is one of my favorite books and has taught me so many things. To love whoever loves you back, to follow your calling but have a plan B if your passion doesn’t allow you to live and that any weakness can be overcome. The shy club-footed Philip strangely made a deep impression on me as he obsessed over a common ungrateful girl most of his life, went on to become an artist but turned to a profession in medicine when he realized he was only but mediocre at art and finally abandoned his plan to roam the world when all he wanted to really do was to marry a sweet simple girl and settle down!

  12. The book that impacted me the most was Speak by Laurie halse anderson. Melinda Sordino is a character that I lived. She was the character i could relate to the most. Melinda taught me that when your life is miserably shattered, and worse when you cant even share a single bad thing about it with anyone, you’ll find a companion within yourself. While she gave vent to her grief by painting a tree in different ways, I learnt let my miseries out via writings of all sorts. Eventually, it taught me when you fail at everything in life and need a helping hand, the best one you’ll get is the one at the end of your own arm.

  13. for an incurable bibliophile,this question deserves some serious thought.For someone who spends a lot of his time in the company of books,when not actually immersed in them,books subtly but surely shape us.If i were to choose one book that has impacted my universe,it will be Azar Nafisi’s “Reading Lolita In Tehran “.This book could be said to be”a book about books” or more accurately in “defense of books”.The book charts a deeply personal journey of the author in a revolutionary ridden Iran,where the fundamentalist’s & zealots have hijacked the liberal & literary traditional of Iran,where books & movies are burned & banned,where women are treated as mannequins. Amidst widespread intolerance & hypocrisy,Azar nafisi & her chosen 7 students form a book club- the comfort & the hope provided by books is amazingly vindicated.In a marvelously layered book,where fact & fiction intertwine leaving the reader in a whirlpool of emotions.The tenacity & resilience of humans is wonderfully brought about- banned books are smuggled,a stray strand of hair flies free, the nail painted a bit too bright:these small act of rebellion affirm the human in us.This book also sets the gold standard between the villain & the hero-a villain is indifferent to the feelings of other,while a hero has the ability to empathize.one great lesson this book has taught me is that book are a great refuge against the mundane & the malevolent & therefore the onus is on us to defend a writers inviolable right to write & the readers to read..The book has moved me to write letters to our more literary parliamentarians & magazines to lend their voice against the book burning & banning brigade..In the ultimate triumph: while the bigots & zealots lie discredited & forgotten,Nafisi’s timeless offering will inspire us to defend more of her tribe.This is one book that will remain a memorable footnote in the pages of history..

  14. WINGS OF FIRE .. by Dr. Kalam is the one that has inspired me most. Having a dreams of being an aerospace engineer but landed up being a computer science student. it was always confusing between my head and heart. But Kalam Sir\’s experience taught me to excel in whatever field you are currently in. Side by side, he also mentioned that love for your dream life will never subdue. It helped me establish the perfect mixture of rationality and feeling.

  15. The God of Small Things. The God of Loss.

    This single book changed my way of reading prose. It made me realize the strength of individual words and the extent of creativity a writer can exercise. It made me search different yet amazing things in a book before I say: Great. A simple story line. An excellent reading experience.

    Memorable quote? Ah! Plenty of them. Because “…the secret of the Great Stories is that they have no secrets. The Great Stories are the ones you have heard and want to hear again.”

    You can read my review at http://thebookoutline.blogspot.in/2012/06/god-of-small-things.html

  16. “Which book has impacted you the most” is a very difficult question to answer because so many books have impacted my life so deeply(as is true with almost everyone who reads books). I am unable to pick one book out of the lot, but let me tell you about one (of those several book) which impacted me greatly. It’s the book titled “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio(pen name of the author). It’s a book which revolves around August Pullman(Auggie), a young ten year old boy who was born with a terrible facial disfigurement. He is like any other child of his age group, does the same things as the others in his age group(eats ice-cream, plays XBox, feels ordinary inside), but most times his peers don’t accept him as “ordinary”. Auggie has a tough time being accepted as normal, but he never gives up or feels sorry for himself. He guts it out. He teaches all of us a lesson in “resilience”. The way he is treated by his peers is heart wrenching at times. We also come to see how Auggie touches the lives of several characters in the book and it is very heart touching. Depending on the different perspectives (of different characters), we come across a range of emotions (switching perspectives) and what touches most is “kindness”, selflessness, resilience and hope. This is the message that we get through the book … despite everything there is “hope” and if we all have a bit of empathy and kindness towards others, life will be so different. After reading this story, I find that I can never be “unkind” to anyone(without regretting it for lifetime if I ever am unkind to anyone). The book leaves me pledging empathy for others and kindness towards anyone I come across in life…. and I am sure the world will be a much better place if every individual reads this book because it ingrains kindness in anyone with a heart. This book has left such a deep impression on me that has changed my life and with me, those of others.

    Wish everyone can read this book(Wonder by R.J. Palacio).
    Ian McEwan has been one of my favourite living authors and I always wished to have one “signed” copy of any of his books(any!) and even participated in the signed copy giveaway of Sweet Tooth on the Facebook page of Books in English by Randomhouse, but was not fortunate enough to win a copy. Fingers crossed this time.

    My Facebook profile page: https://www.facebook.com/me.sdeepak

  17. Mon dieu! It is like asking a mother to pick her favourite child.

    As much as Yeats drives me in sudden jerks of surreal realisation a book which pretty much drives in the same driveway would be: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
    Such was the tale of Jane and Edward Rochester. It’s not something I can relate with something regular or routine. It is almost criminal to do so. The stormy relationship between the two of them, that goes through beastly moors, fire stricken houses even ‘ladies moving through walls’, is one that is riveting and heart-balled-up-and-exploding-into-pieces. Rochester’s brash admission of his love and Jane shying away while biting her lips is the typical setting of an enchanting love story but love like theirs is ingrained with tangled locks of a detached childhood and wrapped in a deep magenta silk cloth with unhealed wounds of an unpleasant past.
    One of the things I cherished the most is Jane’s brutal indication of Rochester’s follies, to his face and Rochester absorbing all of this with his enigmatic yet sarcasm filled grin.

    With a hand in my heart I could almost feel her sentiments, the fierce streak of feminism glowering every time she meets Rochester in his eyes. It all makes so much sense, so perfectly relevant. Bronte’s mastery in handling delicate human emotions in such precise balance is inhuman.
    What I take from this book are endless nights of my birthdays, or particular days of feeling low. It speaks in sentences those can never be rephrased or reconstructed. Each and every word of it.

    I still remember this quote from the book:
    “I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”
    I hold this true to myself proudly, because some things just have to be admitted.

  18. Reblogged this on swadeshdeepak and commented:
    swadeshdeepak September 7, 2012 at 9:03 pm · · Reply →
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    “Which book has impacted you the most” is a very difficult question to answer because so many books have impacted my life so deeply(as is true with almost everyone who reads books). I am unable to pick one book out of the lot, but let me tell you about one (of those several book) which impacted me greatly. It’s the book titled “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio(pen name of the author). It’s a book which revolves around August Pullman(Auggie), a young ten year old boy who was born with a terrible facial disfigurement. He is like any other child of his age group, does the same things as the others in his age group(eats ice-cream, plays XBox, feels ordinary inside), but most times his peers don’t accept him as “ordinary”. Auggie has a tough time being accepted as normal, but he never gives up or feels sorry for himself. He guts it out. He teaches all of us a lesson in “resilience”. The way he is treated by his peers is heart wrenching at times. We also come to see how Auggie touches the lives of several characters in the book and it is very heart touching. Depending on the different perspectives (of different characters), we come across a range of emotions (switching perspectives) and what touches most is “kindness”, selflessness, resilience and hope. This is the message that we get through the book … despite everything there is “hope” and if we all have a bit of empathy and kindness towards others, life will be so different. After reading this story, I find that I can never be “unkind” to anyone(without regretting it for lifetime if I ever am unkind to anyone). The book leaves me pledging empathy for others and kindness towards anyone I come across in life…. and I am sure the world will be a much better place if every individual reads this book because it ingrains kindness in anyone with a heart. This book has left such a deep impression on me that has changed my life and with me, those of others.

    Wish everyone can read this book(Wonder by R.J. Palacio).
    Ian McEwan has been one of my favourite living authors and I always wished to have one “signed” copy of any of his books(any!) and even participated in the signed copy giveaway of Sweet Tooth on the Facebook page of Books in English by Randomhouse, but was not fortunate enough to win a copy. Fingers crossed this time.

    My Facebook profile page: https://www.facebook.com/me.sdeepak

  19. Dear Readers,
    Thank you for participating. Your entries always make for a tough judgment call!

    Nonetheless, here’s RHI wishing @Swadesh Deepak a hearty congratulations! We do hope that you enjoy your signed copy of Ian McEwan’s, Sweet Tooth.

    xoxo, RHI

Leave a Reply

